Made in the UK from 100% recycled polypropylene

Honest comparisons, clearly labelled

How X-Grid compares with other ground reinforcement grids

We publish our test data so you can compare like-for-like. See the figures, the testing conditions, and which claims are verified.

Why compare?

Load ratings are not all measured the same way

X-Grid’s 428 t/m² compression test result is measured unfilled — no aggregate in the cells. Many competitor figures are quoted for filled installations, which will always test higher because the aggregate takes load through the cell walls.Where possible, we have noted the testing condition for every figure in this comparison. Claims that cannot be verified from available documentation are marked accordingly.

Our approach

Transparent testing, honest comparisons

We publish our independent test report because you should have the full picture. When you compare X-Grid with other grids, check whether the load ratings are for filled or unfilled conditions — it makes a significant difference.

Comparison table

Specification X-Grid EcoGrid E40 EcoGrid E80 Ecodeck 40mm CORE DRIVE 40-30 IBRAN-X40
Compression load rating 428 t/m² Unfilled 500 t/m² (filled) ⚠ 800 t/m² (unfilled) ⚠ 500 tonnes (unspecified) ⚠ Not published ⚠ 500 t/m² (unfilled) ⚠
Test certificate available Yes — published No No No No Yes (but 150 t/m² in certificate)
Open structure 93% Not published Not published Not published Not published Not published
Cell wall thickness Not specified 3.6 mm 8 mm 3.5 mm 2 mm 3.5 mm
UK manufactured Yes No (Germany) No (Germany) Yes Yes Yes
Product guarantee Not specified on site 20 years 20 years 10 years 15 years 25 years

Important Like-for-like comparison: X-Grid's 428 t/m² is measured unfilled (no aggregate). Many competitor figures are for filled installations, which will always test higher. Where possible, we have noted the testing condition. Claims marked with ⚠ require verification.

Individual products

Product details

X-Grid

Load rating
428 t/m²
Testing condition
Unfilled (independent test, DIN 38412)
Test certificate
Available — GCL Products test report
Cell wall thickness
Not publicly specified
Depth
40 mm
Material
100% recycled polypropylene
Manufactured in
United Kingdom
Guarantee
Not specified on site
Verification note

Original independent test report published and available for download. SHA-256 verified copy retained.

Notes

The only competitor in this comparison that publishes the full original test report.

Visit X-Grid website

EcoGrid E40

Unverified
Load rating
500 t/m²
Testing condition
When filled (website claim)
Test certificate
No — EPD shows 120 t/m² empty only
Cell wall thickness
3.6 mm
Depth
40 mm
Material
100% recycled LDPE
Manufactured in
Germany (Purus Plastics GmbH)
Guarantee
20 years
Verification note

Website claims 500 t/m² when filled. EPD (2017) shows 120 t/m² empty for E40 — different testing conditions. No test certificate for the 500 t/m² filled claim found.

Notes

EcoGrid E80 (not E40) is the model that claims 800 t/m² unfilled / 1,500+ t/m² filled. E80 not covered by the EPD.

Visit EcoGrid E40 website

EcoGrid E80

Partial — see note
Load rating
800 t/m² unfilled / 1,500+ t/m² filled
Testing condition
Both conditions stated (website)
Test certificate
No — EPD does not cover E80
Cell wall thickness
8 mm
Depth
80 mm
Material
100% recycled LDPE
Manufactured in
Germany (Purus Plastics GmbH)
Guarantee
20 years
Verification note

Website clearly distinguishes unfilled (800 t/m²) from filled (1,500+ t/m²). However, EPD only covers E40/S50/E50 — no E80 documentation found. No test certificate for E80 downloaded.

Notes

Thickest wall (8 mm) and deepest profile (80 mm) of all compared products. Claims are clearly labelled but lack downloadable test evidence.

Visit EcoGrid E80 website

Ecodeck 40mm Grid

Unverified
Load rating
500 tonnes
Testing condition
Not specified
Test certificate
No — spec sheet only, no test report
Cell wall thickness
3.5 mm
Depth
40 mm
Material
100% recycled PP/PE blend
Manufactured in
United Kingdom
Guarantee
10 years
Verification note

Spec sheet says "500 tonnes load capacity" without specifying filled/unfilled conditions. Downloaded spec sheet (57 MB) is actually for 40mm grid despite filename. "Compression Test: 500 tonne" could mean total tonnes, not per m². No independent test certificate found.

Notes

The downloaded "50mm-Grid-Spec-Sheet.pdf" contains 40mm grid specifications (500x500x40mm). Claim wording is ambiguous.

Visit Ecodeck 40mm Grid website

CORE DRIVE 40-30

Unverified
Load rating
Not published
Testing condition
N/A
Test certificate
No — no load rating in specification sheets
Cell wall thickness
2 mm
Depth
30 mm (40 mm width)
Material
High Density Polyethylene (HDPE)
Manufactured in
United Kingdom
Guarantee
15 years (when installed to specification)
Verification note

CORE DRIVE publishes no load rating in any technical documentation. Specification sheets show dimensions, material, wall thickness, and aggregate size — but no compression load, bearing capacity, or test results. Website claims "Market Leading Strength" without published data. A stockist Facebook post mentions "450tn/m²" but this is not from CORE LP and not in any official documentation.

Notes

Thinest wall thickness (1.2-2 mm) of all compared products. Claims of "market leading strength" cannot be verified from available documentation.

Visit CORE DRIVE 40-30 website

IBRAN-X40

Partial — see note
Load rating
500 t/m²
Testing condition
Unfilled (Technical Data Sheet, Feb 2026)
Test certificate
Yes — Lloyd's British certificate (Sept 2020)
Cell wall thickness
3.5 mm
Depth
40 mm
Material
100% recycled PP/HDPE with impact modifiers
Manufactured in
United Kingdom (Nottingham)
Guarantee
25 years (subject to documented installation)
Verification note

Technical Data Sheet (Feb 2026) clearly states "500 tonnes/m² (unfilled)" — the only competitor TDS that explicitly states unfilled conditions. However, the Lloyd's British compression certificate (Sept 2020) shows testing to "no less than 150 t per square meter" — a 3.3x discrepancy. Certificate tested to point of destruction using 100T hydraulic jack. No updated certificate corresponding to the 500 t/m² claim has been provided.

Notes

Most transparent competitor regarding testing conditions (clearly states "unfilled"). Significant discrepancy between current TDS claim and existing test certificate. Certificate on file: docs/competitor-research/ibran_compression_certificate.pdf

Visit IBRAN-X40 website

Research conducted September 2026. Documentation downloaded and archived in docs/competitor-research/. Claims may change — we review this comparison periodically.